Plan to split Thane district gets official nod

The long-pending move to split Thane into two districts has been given a seal of approval by the Konkan divisional commissioner, who has recommended setting up of a new district headquarters at Palghar. Commissioner Vijay Nahata is understood to have submitted his report to state authorities after protracted meetings and listening to diverse opinions voiced by officials and local political functionaries.

There is a proposal for Palghar to be the headquarters of a new district to be carved out from the tribal talukas of Jawahar, Mokahda, Talasari, Vikramgad, Wada, Palghar and Vasai. The Thane district jurisdiction will then be restricted to Thane, Navi Mumbai, Bhiwandi, Kalyan-Dombivli and Shahapur.

Thane district currently comprises seven municipal corporations and two municipal councils with an overall population exceeding 1.20 crore. Its proximity to Mumbai, the state capital, and massive infrastructure development in the townships of Navi Mumbai, Thane, Mira Road etc. has resulted in population explosion in the district.

“Thane has a unique mix of population and the income disparity is also huge. While cities like Thane, Navi Mumbai and Mira Road have an urban population, Thane district also has a 13% tribal population,” an official from the district collectorate said. The creation of the proposed Palghar district will help in effective implementation, monitoring and evaluation of welfare programmes meant for the tribal population.

Leave a Reply